Old Reviews Mars Hydro TS 600 and TS 1000 Review

Reaction score
I'm new to growing, just working on my second ever grow. When I was getting set up I wanted a cost effective setup that wasn't going to compromise on quality. I could always move up down the line if I wanted more. So browsing on Amazon I see the Mars Hydro lights have pretty good reviews. A lot of the negative reviews were people saying two of the RED LED's are dim and burning out. Of course those are the IR lights that are supposed to be exactly like that. So factor out those comments and the reviews are pretty solid for Mars.

So I got a 2x4 tent and two TS600's. Pretty good I thought. Started a photo period grow with four Black Banana Cookies. The plants were doing quite well, couldn't complain. But I think for the size of the tent the two 600's were ok, but not great. So I decided on adding a TS1000. PERFECT!! Once I added that baby in between the 600's my tent lit up. It's super bright in there now. My first grow was a SCROG, very packed in there and the light still penetrated deep into the bush. I had excellent yield and the plants flourished.

I will note the 600's can get a little hot. I run a fan that is aimed across the top of the lights. This keeps the 600 closest to the fan very cool and the one furthest very warm, but not hot. The 1000 doesn't get as hot as the 600's, not even close actually. Must be a much more efficient light/power supply.

Now the 1000 has a dimmer. But with my limited knowledge I don't know why or when to use this. So far I only use it when I have to stick my head under the lights for whatever reason, I dim it so I'm not blinded. Other than that, is there a stage in the grow where I should dim this light? I assume seedling only? IDK, I keep it full blast 100%