Help!! first try AF not going very well

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I have a Dinafem Blue Amnesia XXL that has had very slow growth in the last few days. It was germinated prior to putting in soil one week ago. It did not take too long to come through the dirt but seems to now be at a stand still. Its under 2 40 W CFL at the moment. at approx day 4 I moved the light to within a couple inches as it was stretched out (searching for the light from what I've been reading). I'm not sure if I have over watered or under. No nutes as of yet. I have to admit I have recently had to move it outside in a shed(i live in Canada and it's still quite cold out) but have a space heater running.

Is it dying? Will it start to grow any bigger? I really want this plant to grow a I am a noob so I'm sure I have mess up somewhere along the line. Exactly one week in and I'm stressed already :bummer:

Any help/suggestions would be much appreciated

Attachments

• IMG_20160405_191719.jpg
    IMG_20160405_191719.jpg
    151.3 KB · Views: 220
I'd say the lighting is too weak, otherwise she looks healthy,... you need better quality light mate, IMO,...remember, it's not sheer intensity, but the PAR-- wavelengths that the plant utilizes best,... wrong spectrum can show slow growth, even if it seem strong enough to the eye-- this is no measure!

40w actual draw or equivalents? If thats actual draw and the equivalent is 150 per that should be plenty for now. If all it is is 2 little 40w eq replace them with 100w equivalent bulbs.

Yeah get some stronger light in there and be patient as it looks healthy enoff

I am now realizing they are 9W=40w actual. They are "daylight" spectrum with 6500K but I will switch them out with 40+actual w and hope for the best. Based on what you see, will she survive and start to grow faster once I put the new lights on? How far away should they be from the plant? Should I switch from distilled water to bottled/tap water?