Outdoor Single plant grow - Mdanzig Sour Spyder

Reaction score
This is my first grow since the 70s! I have limited space on my balcony but have an excellent location with full due south exposure. Maybe it is sad that I can only grow one plant, but my needs are minimal so one will do until another can be started...and then another.

I have a long horticultural background with all sorts of plants; trees, shrubs, vegetables, lawns and helped customers for years at a large nursery's information desk. This grow should be a "piece of cake" for me but I am still nervous.

I chose a variety that is perhaps a bit esoteric, which matches my taste in everything from beer to clothes. I studied all kinds of auto-flowering feminized seeds and ended up choosing Mdanzig Sour Spyder. When the seeds came I was a bit surprised that the seeds seemed smaller than what I used to clean out of Mexican dirt weed in the 70s and wondered if they were viable.

Yesterday morning I looked at my seeds and chose one to germinate, and I chose the smallest seed figuring that if it did not germinate I would simply move on to another seed. I put that seed in a shot glass of water for 12 hours and was sure the seed was bad because it floated! Not a good sign, or so I thought.

After 12 hours soaking the seed sank. I then put the seed inside a moist paper towel and inside a baggie, and that on a plate on top of my cable converter box. This morning I checked the seed and it had already sprouted less than 24 hours later! So into a peat pot it goes and back to its warm spot.

I am nervous and excited to get this going. Stay tuned...
eeecubed-albums-first-grow-picture440441-4-10-15a.jpg
eeecubed-albums-first-grow-picture440442-4-10-15b.jpg

Looking forward to this E³, what size pot are you planning on using and grow medium?

:peace:

Good luck 3E

I am going to use a 3 gallon pot. And a local soil I have used for years for container gardening, Black Gold All Organic.