Grow Mediums Questions - First coco grow

durbanpoisoner

Cultivators Club
Reaction score
Hey dudes and dudettes,

Doing a coco grow for the first time, I only have experience with soil. I got some dry coco brick, rehydrated and double buffered in 8mg/gallon calmag, no PH adjustment. Mixed with 2qt perlite for each 3g fabric pot and it feels really nice and light so I'm excited. I plan to use canna a+b and rhizotonic which are nutes I've never used before. So I have a few questions.

1) How should I start the seedlings? I have some jiffy pellets. Should I start them in them planted directly in the coco?
2) Should I presoak the coco with nutes and calmag before planting?
3) Nutes + calmag every watering yeah? What bout the rhizotonic? Add that to every watering as well? I plan to germinate the seeds in a dilute rhizotonic solution.

Other than that I've been reading cocoforcannabis which is helpful. I'll be hand watering. Coco seems like an interesting medium. After rehydrating, buffering and adding perlite it feels a lot like a really nice potting soil. Very light and airy. Anyways, that's all I got, thanks.

@durbanpoisoner :welcome:Welcome to AFN:welcome: Did you wash the salt out of the coco first? I know some don't need that but some do?

Yes I would use a weak nutrient solution with the Rizotonic in the coco before you plant the seed right in the pot. 1/2 inch deep. If you use the Jiffy pellets be sure to soak them in some PH 6.4 water first. They are peat and naturally low PH.

Coco is hydro and you always fertigate in hydro. The amount of extra calcium you may need depends on all of the sources added up. What is the starting PPM and source of your water?

I would use about 70% of the Lite Pro Nutrient schedule. Be sure to keep it in balance.