Indoor newbie questions

Reaction score
I'm completely new to indoor growing and I'm trying to wrap my head around it. I have some questions that are probably stupid.
Imagine a small setup consisting of a 2x2 tent and a 135W HLG/Mars-Hydro TS1000 with a big autoflower strain using lst techniques.
1)Is it ok to check the grow twice a week? I have concerns about light burn. I know that you should check daily but i would like to know if it's feasible.
2)How many pots would you put in there and of which size? I don't understand if it's better to have a big plant or a number of small plants.
3)Is active air intake necessary? I read in a diary that a guy with passive intake had smell problems with a yield just a bit over an oz. Is it possible to achieve 0 smell outside the tent or at least outside the room where it's placed?
4)When you water until run-off are you supposed to get rid of the run-off water right away?
5)Is it better to water with the lights on or off?
6)How do you decide if you keep the lights off during day or night?
7)What height would you recommend for the tent?
A big thank you to anyone who answers these silly questions! Even informative links would be appreciated.
EDIT: Another question came to my mind. When is a rotating fan needed inside the tent? Does it provide anything outside of heat control?
EDIT 2: Exhaust fans are overdimensioned for this space. I guess that their on-time must be controlled to get the right CFM? If for example I have a 100 CFM fan will it get to 50 CFM if I leave it on half the time?There is so much to take into consideration!

Last edited:
I'm completely new to inddor growing and I'm trying to wrap my head around it. I have some questions that are probably stupid.
Imagine a small setup consisting of a 2x2 tent and a 135W HLG/Mars-Hydro TS1000 with a big autoflower strain using lst techniques.