Whether to Ph or not(for my specific situation) and a few other questions.

Reaction score
Hey friends. I have been growing for a little over 9 months and have 3 harvests under my belt. 1 harvest ago I switched to an organic soil and dry amendment schedule, and now I am trying to go more in on the organic side. I recently made a large batch of soil, and I have been keeping it dampish to allow some bacterial colonies an easier time thriving. It smells great right now, and has a rich blackish color. In about two weeks I will be potting up all 80 gallons of soil, in 5 10 gallon pots, and 5 5 gallon pots. I will then be starting a photoperiod grow in my 4x4, while growing autos in my 3x3. My soil mixture is a mixture of FFOF(foxfarm ocean forest), FFSF(foxfarm strawberry fields), FFHF(foxfarm happy frog), and CoM (Coast of Maine) soil.

Should I ph my water when feeding plants? I have two water sources available to me, RO water that goes through a home system, and the water that comes through my tap. The tap water I don't have the details on, but it comes out of the tap around 8-8.3 ph. I think it is likely hard water, and it is buffered extremely well. It takes a tbsp of ph down to get it down to the correct level.

Now, a related question. I am going to install blumat systems in both of my tents soon. There are sometimes I am away from home for 3-5 days and I think a blumat would really help with watering. I plan to put a 25 gallon tote connected to each tents blumat. Will this work? How would I be able to maintain the PH of the water in the tote, if I even need to? Would I need an airstone in the tote to make sure the water doesn't start growing colonies of anaerobic bacteria by not moving around?