Lighting Bilbo's Brief Guide to Choosing Your LED.

Reaction score
Beginners guide to buying an LED Growlight.

I'll update regularly as technology advances and lights get ever more efficient but hopefully this brief guide can answer the most often asked questions.

So I've done a few grows now, I'm by no means an expert grower but I'm not so bad on the theory and technical aspects of led lighting.

I'm going to lay out a few important aspects of choosing which light or lights are best for your grow space.

1. First thing is budget, you need to be realistic and get enough bang for your buck.

There are cheap lights out there offering the world but buyer beware!

I'll say now that I use Vipar led's as they are the cost effective choice for me. I could get better but I'm not prepared to invest any more
than the Vipar's cost in £/watt. Chinese companies are just like Western ones, some good, some bad but you've got Alibaba and Aliexpress to shop safely now from there so do your research and you can get a real bargain if you are brave enough :)

If you can't stretch to enough panels think about a cheaper, smaller, decent brand UFO led and cfl combination.

The next step up from the Vipars and similar brands are the units from companies like Grow Northern. Think Ford to BMW and you get the idea, worth it if you can afford it.

Then you get to the high end panels costing upwards of £1000 but again, if you can afford it and want a 600w led that competes easily with a top end 1000w HPS then get in touch with the makers. Expect Rolls Royce service and advice, custom specs and great aftercare.

Walk away from any maker that won't talk to you and beware of panels that look like top end stuff for half the price, they aren't.