About to be a first time grower. Advice, please.

Vegasbear87

Cultivators Club
Reaction score
So, my better half and I are about to start growing for the first time, and want to start with (and probably stick with) autoflowering strains.

So far, we have got the following:

Gorilla 4x4 Grow Tent
AC Infinity Cloudline S6 Fan
TerraBloom 6"x16" carbon filter
Spider Farmer SF-2000 LED lights
Timer
10x 5gal cloth pots
Mother Earth Coco with Perlite mix
Fox Farm 3-pack (Big Bloom, Grow Big, and Tiger Bloom) - a friend had a spare pack and gave it to us.

Are we missing anything critical?

I am coming at this from a total newbie perspective - I have done a little bit of reading, but I get pretty confused reading about soil and nutrient schedules, ph ajusted water, etc. as everyone seems to have completely different ways of doing it with autoflower strains.

Also, we live in the hot ass Mojave Desert, and I have read that drying after harvesting is pretty tough in dry desert climates.

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks!

-Bear

@Vegasbear87 :welcome:Welcome to AFN. :welcome:.

I live in the San Joaquin Valley where it is hot and dry also but you win! I use an evoporative cooler most of the summer and it adds valuable moisture to the air which helps in veg and early flower. In late flower I just let some of the air enter from outside hot & dry. It is a balancing act. As far as drying goes each season is different. I have a dehumidifier, a humidifier, a heater, a swamp cooler and in a pinch Air Conditioning ($$$$$). I hang the whole plant when hot and dry. Then a light wet trim and hang branches when close to 70°F/50% RH if rain or fog is coming I do a full wet trim and run the dehumidifier.

Stuff you will find useful:
Cal-Mag Nutrient (Coco will need extra)
EC Meter
PH Meter
Soil PH probe (Accurate 8 or clone, Blue Lab)
PH - Up
PH - Down
16" Hercules Oscillating Fan
Thermometer/hygrometer
support system for big colas.

How will you deal with run-off?

:goodluck::vibe: