Staff member
AFN Admin
Cultivators Club
Reaction score
Website
www.autoflower.org
Vapor's Comprehensive Guide to Odor Control and Reduction Methods

Abstract:

While searching through websites and forums and PDF's on information on odor control and reduction; I thought to myself "Gee, someone should really put something a little more comprehensive together that actually lists some of the methods and how they actually work instead of having to look through 50 different websites." I did a few searches on AFN for this information and while I found a few great posts; I wanted to tie everything together like the perfect rug in a living room does.

This is my attempt at that. I'm not a scientist; I'm just a guy who likes to read a lot and put things together. I am not the mastermind behind a lot of this information so let the credit fall to those brilliant minds whose research helped me base this guide on. I did write this guide, however, and this is my interpretation of my findings in what I hope is easy to read and discern facts from. I hope the information is as accurate as possible; and if you find anything misinforming or that needs to be correct; please constructively advise me so I can change it!

I'm putting this guide together to:

• Help promote good odor control and awareness involved with growing
  • Explain some of the "what's" and "why's" of odor generation
  • Help explain some common misconceptions about the technology used with odor control
  • Educate growers on some of the odor control methods available to them

Chapter 1: Why do my plants smell?

Terpenes and Terpenoids

Marijuana plants, as well as many other plants, produce organic compounds called terpenes. Terpenes are a major component of resin, often very strong smelling, and sometimes act as a protective function for the plant.