Yellow brownish spots

Reaction score
Hello!

I am a new grower and I have been lurking on this amazing site for a while, trying to learn as much as I can before actually starting on my first plant. Now to the actual issue.

Problem: I have been growing my first plant on a windowsill, while gradually introducing it to direct sunlight in the afternoon. However, I believe I have made some rookie mistakes already, such as putting the plant outside on a windy, not particularly warm day (13-18C) and giving it too much water (~1.5 dl a morning for the last 4-5 days) after being very conservative in the beginning.

Yesterday, I have spotted a small yellow spot, and since then a few more appeared. I also spotted a small bug crawling on one of the leaves, but I am not sure if he's responsible for the spots, or whether it is some sort of fungus (mildew ?). I am a complete noob so these are just my wild guesses.

Medium/grow method: Generic potting mix for flowers that I got at the flower shop.

Feed: and supplements used: None.

water source: Tap watered filtered with Brita.

Strain/age: RQS Quick One / 19 days since germination

light used: Sun through the window or direct sun.

Climate: Continental, nowadays around 16-23C at day. At night I bring them inside and leave them at room temperature with a fan blowing gently.

Additional info: I would love to know what is going on with my plant, and how I should deal with these spots? Should I just wait it out, or cut the affected leaves? I have not given my plant any water since I spotted the yellow dots, because I suspect it was overwatered already. It seems to be doing great since, besides the yellow marks.

See pictures attached, the biggest spot is on the left leaf. Any help appreciated!

Attachments

• Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 16.01.08.png
    Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 16.01.08.png
    3.1 MB · Views: 79
Last edited:
Is there any nutrients in the potting soil?

On the bag it says:
organic matter > 40%
N > 0.3%
P2O5 > 0.1%