Outdoor worries about mold

S

sparrowhawk

Its my first time growing autos outside in my poly tunnel.I have grown for quite a few years now, all up til now it was indoors in a tent and even though i have got beter and beter with more success than failure, but i am still filled with horror when i think of the couple of times i had loads of bud rot. Its been brought to my attention that bud rot has been an issue in green houses and poly tunnels. I was thinking of getting one of them dehumidifiers run my extention lead and run that when the humidity gets a bit high especially at night to keep the moisture levels low avoiding bud rot. Has anyone got any views on this.? cheers:bow:

Yes, leave both ends of the tunnel open and you should be okay. The poly tunnel grows I've seen where they leave the ends all the way open to allow air flow have done fine. I took a plant into november in a humid rainy climate once by covering the plant from above with poly but leaving both sides open for air flow.

I can only open one end of the poly tunnel, but i can open four flaps as well one in each corner, will that be ok do you think? So do you think the dehumidifier would be a waste of money and over kill to the problem. cheers. sparrowhawk

I have no idea if that will be okay. Opening up only one end still leaves stagnant air in there. The reason for opening both ends would be to get the airflow going through. How large is this tunnel, are we talking a poly tunnel or a hoop house?

Its only a small tunnel its 2 metres high and 3 metres long so quite a small one in the big picture of things, just dont want all my work ruined by bud rot.

Its only a small tunnel its 2 metres high and 3 metres long so quite a small one in the big picture of things, just dont want all my work ruined by bud rot.

Hi there.