Grow Room Max coverage Vs. Max watts

Tyler_Durden88

It's all about the Trichomes
Reaction score
Im trying to get a debate going on weather you should go for say one 600W LED or a Pair of 300W LED for your grow space. I recently came upon this dilema myself and went for 3 300W LED full spectrum lights instead of say one high powered light to try and use as much of my grow tent as possible. Anybody else have exsperience with this and if so what was your results and preference?

I have used 600w hps and just ordered 2 150 autocobs ... hoping to reduce my power draw. any experience with this ?

@Tyler_Durden88 , the science pretty much nails this one for you, no doubt, absolutely 100% certain, two lights (or any greater multiple than two) are better than one.
I'm not a lighting engineer, but I do have a little experience growing. And the science of lighting sez, everytime you double the distance light has to travel, you lose intensity by the square of the light strength. I may not be presenting that 100% correctly, but that should make the point. If you want the full technical explanation, take a look at my light intensity thread (link at bottom of this post). A knowledgable lighting person explained the science.
But the science proves, the further distance light has to travel, the weaker it gets. Two light sources will approximately half the distance traveled. And assuming each light is 1/2 the strength of a single source light, that also means you can position each light much closer to the plant canopy, even further reducing the distance the light travels.
So using your example of a single 600W LED, you would be much better served with FOUR 150W LED's.
Then there's all kinds of other points to consider - a 600W LED is a monster and would cover a much larger area than HID... but compounded by the distance thing.