Outdoor HELP: Transplanting Auto's

S

streikr

Just like to start with saying Hi :drool: as i am new to AFN, and im loving it so far.

I am just about to start my third batch of Autos over the past 6 months.. My first auto's i buried direct in ground as i read autos didnt like to be transplanted. Although my germination rate was low, my surviving plants grew rapidly and yielded bountiful buds. My second run at autos i tried starting them off in a propagator and then when the babies where ready for direct sunlight i transplanted them into their 3 gallon pots which they remained in for the rest of the grow. I had 3 types of strains (ak47 auto, Samsara Adrenaline Shot and Sweet Seeds Big Devil #1). All plants were stunted in growth with only my big devils growing over 30cm in height (they grew about 50-60).
The question is with my new grow (3 SS Big Devil #2, 5 Nirvana Short Rider, 3 La Diva) should i plant them direct and risk low germ or propagator them, assuming last time the transplant didnt cause the stuntage.
:peace:

Thanks for the advice buddha man.. Although im going to keep them in pots.. so should i get a smaller pot with the bottom cut out to put inside the bigger one? Have my seedling mix in the smaller pot and my fert soil with 6.5 ph in the bigger one?

Some auto's like to have a deep tap root, my ak47's will stunt once they are at the bottom of the pot, i plant directly in final pots but if i was going to do a larger non femmed batch i would get some extra deep narrow pots to start in but get them potted up after a week above soil.

If yer in the UK greens horticulture do a nice tall narrow square pot about 1 litre.