Not Much Activity in Here

Randar

Experienced Grower
Cultivators Club
Reaction score
Currently Smoking
Gorilla Bomb, TnT Trichome & Swiss Skunk
Just saw that this sub-forum was created, though am a little disappointed that there hasn't been much activity in here yet. Maybe because it's so new.

Anyways, last year I decided to give DIY magic mushrooms a shot, because why not? I've never done mushrooms before (still haven't!), plus the potential medical benefits intrigued me.

It was a small experiment into DIY magic mushrooms, but due to the low cost outlay, I figured it was worth it.

I began by researching various methodologies online, and finally settled on the PF TEK that required no pressure cooker. I had some of the supplies already laying around the house, and two spare pint-sized canning jars which I could use. All-in-all, my initial cost to get started was $34.78 (see below).

Pot, Lid$0.00Own
Vermiculite$3.99Menards
Shoeboxes (2)$1.98Target
Perlite$0.00Own
Spore Syringe$19.85Online
Brown Rice Flour$5.99Menards
Coco Coir Bricks$2.97Ace Hardware
Canning Jars$0.00Own
TOTAL$34.78

The spore syringe I bought was discounted as the exact species I received was up to the website. Since I'd never done 'shrooms before, I wasn't too picky. I ended up receiving PF Classic.

In the end, my first grow resulted in two flushes for a total of 13 g of dried mushrooms. A little disappointing to be sure, but also not too bad considering it was a) my first grow, and b) based on only two pint jars of cultured medium. With one syringe, you should be able to inoculate many more jars.

Anyways, I plan to do another grow later this year or early next year, and will inoculate many more jars. In the meantime, my dried mushrooms are still sitting in my closet in an airtight container with some dessicant to keep them nice and dry. I plan to try them (about 3 g first try) sometime in the next two weeks.